Bosch Requiem premiered

The first performance of the Bosch Requiem took place on November 8 2013, in the cathedral of St. Jan in 's Hertogenbosch, by the Nederlands Kamerkoor and the ASKO|Schönberg Ensemble, conducted by Reinbert de Leeuw, with soloists Katrien Baerts (soprano) Helena Rasker (alto) Pascal Bertin (countertenor) Thomas Oliemans (baritone) and Monica Germino on violectra.

'The nearly fifty minutes long Requiem was commissioned by the Stichting Jheronimus Bosch 500 (the Bosch 500 Foundation) to commemorate the death, nearly five centuries ago, of this great painter (a detail of his 'Visions of the Hereafter' is shown here on the left)

Fragments of the original Requiem texts are transformed into a depiction of the drama of our mortality, in nine movements, each with strong individual characteristics.

      review NRC Handelsblad

      interview Trouw




return to Homepage
























return to Homepage